Frensham Open

On the 9th and 10th May nineteen competitors went afloat for Frensham's annual open meeting for 2.4mRs. This would be the year for a new trophy winner as the nine times previous holder, world number one Megan Pascoe was involved overseas.

The event takes place over two days with a total of six races sailed back-to-back in pairs. It was not until four o'clock following regular club racing that the open event was able to start. The wind at this point was Westerly but also throwing some very sharp punching gusts. This was a bit of a learning experience for the visiting helms and the first race was won by Bruce Hill of Frensham. The second race again in similar shifting wind conditions was won by Steve Bulmore a visitor but a helm with long Frensham experience.

On Sunday the wind had shifted in more ways than one and was blowing from the South. Race officer Dan Shaw, wisely set a course in wide Northern end of the lake. So with two races either side of a lunch break there was all to play for.

It was at this point that experienced inland sailor Iain Stowe, from Rutland dominated the event with three first places and a third to decisively take the trophy. He was followed in second by Steve Bulmore while third and fourth went to local Frensham sailors Richard Smallwood and Bruce Hill. Several visitors travelled long distances to take part including Iain Stowe the winner from Rutland but a special mention is due to Martin Whittingham-Jones from West Kirby near Merseyside by far the furthest travelled competitor.

Although the wind shifted throughout the two days. The sun shone and all enjoyed the competition.

Jim Morley